المياه العذبة | WWF

 

 

المياه العذبة

خلق مستقبل آمن للمياه في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

 




 

اقرأ المزيد

نظرة عامة

خلق مستقبل آمن للمياه في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

إلى جانب الهواء الذي نتفسه؛ فإن الماء هو المصدر الأغلى على الكوكب إذ يعتمد عليه جميع المخلوقات للبقاء على قيد الحياة. تحتاج البشرية الماء في كل شىء بدءاً من الطعام الذي نأكله والوقود والملابس وحتى الأدوية. عدد قليل جداً من البلدان تملك مصادر نادرة للمياه العذبة كما هو الحال في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. إذ لا يوجد لدينا أنهار دائمة أو بحيرات طبيعية. بل نحن نعتمد بشدة على مياه الأمطار التي تسقط على جبال الحجر مما يؤدى إلى تكوين المياه سنوياً في الوديان والممرات المائية الجوفية.

زيادة الطلب مع انخفاض العرض

على مدار الثلاثين عاماً الماضية كانت جميع متطلباتنا من المياه العذبة متوفرة من المصادر الطبيعية. بينما حالياً يتم توفير معظم احتياجتنا من المياه عن طريق تحلية المياه.

يعود حزء من تلك المشكلة إلى الارتفاع المتزايد في حجم الطلب على المياه الناتج عن التحضر والنمو السكاني في حين تزامن ذلك مع انخفاض في الكم المعروض من المياه وكذلك تغير المناخ وقلة سقوط الأمطاروالنسب العالية للتبخر وزيادة استخدام المياه الجوفية في الزراعة وصيانة الحدائق والغابات الصناعية والمتنزهات وقد كان لكلٍ من هذه العوامل تأثيراً كبيراً.

وقد تم تنفيذ العديد من برامج بناء السدود وتحلية المياه وذلك لمقاومة إحتمالية النقص في المياه . لكن من المؤسف أن هذه الحلول نفسها تشكل تهديدات للبيئة. حيث أن بناء السدود له تأثيرشديد على مناطق الحياة الفطرية، التسبب في الجفاف وعدم توازن الطبيعة. كما أن تحلية المياه تعتبر خيانة للبيئة لإنها تؤثر على الحياة البحرية وتضيف إلى مشكلة تغيرالمناخ .

وهو الأمر الذي لا يستطيع أحد أن يتهاون في التعامل معه إذا ما كنا نريد الحفاظ على أنماط حياتنا وحماية الحياة الفطرية التى تتواجد حول مصادرنا من المياه العذبة.

لذلك فإن جمعية الإمارات للحياة الفطرية تعمل في شراكة مع الحكومة، والشركات والمجتمعات لتقديم حلول قابلة للتنفيذ. من خلال إنشاء شبكات متكاملة للمناطق المحمية؛ نحن نعمل على تحقيق مستقبل مستدام لشعب دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وبيئتها الطبيعية.

دور جمعية الإمارات للحياة الفطرية بالتعاون مع الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة

الحفاظ على مصادر المياه الطبيعية

نحن شغوفون بإستعادة وإدارة النظم البيئية لمياهنا العذبة بشكل مستدام.

منذ عام 2006 قامت جمعية الإمارات للحياه الفطرية بالمساعدة في توصيف ورصد موائل المياه العذبة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. في وادي الوريعة بالفجيرة؛ اكتشفنا أن أنظمة المياه العذبة على درجة عالية من الجودة. مما أدى إلى إعتبار الوادي موقعاً للأراضي الرطبة طبقاً لاتفاقية رامسارفي عام 2010 مما أعطى الوادي اعترافاً بأهميته. كما ساهمت الجمعية في إعلان الوادي كأول منطقة جبلية محمية رسمياً في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة: في عام 2013 عينت حكومة الفجيرة جمعية الأمارات للحياة الفطرية لقيادة عملية التخطيط وتنفيذ المنتزه الوطني بوادي الوريعة.

ومنذ ذلك الحين ونحن نعمل بشكل وثيق مع بلدية الفجيرة وكذلك أصحاب المصلحة الأخرين لوضع خطة إدارة شاملة تستند إلى أفضل الممارسات الدولية.

واليوم، يعتبر متنزه وادي الوريعة الوطني فريداً من نوعه في المنطقة في مجال التثقيف البيئي. وقد تم افتتاح مركز أبحاث المياه في 2013 ليصبح المركز الأول في مجال التعلم وأبحاث المياه في الشرق الأوسط حيث أصبح مصدر إلهام للمجتمعات المحلية والإقليمية في الحفاظ على مصادر المياه العذبة من أجل الإستخدام الحالي والمستقبلي.كما أنه موطناً لبرنامج التعلم وأبحاث المياه، وتعزيز قيمة العلماء المدنيين.

ماذا يمكنك أن تفعل

نستطيع جميعاً أن نتخذ إجراءات مناخية عن طريق اتخاذ خيارات يومية أكثر ذكاءاً، بدءاً من استخدام سيارات ذات كفاءة في استخدام الوقود أو شراء منتجات أخرى ذات كفاءة في استخدام الطاقة، أو تحسين الطريقة التى نستهلك بها المياه والكهرباء، أو حتى عن طريق إجراء تعديلات صغيرة على عاداتنا اليومية – وكذلك إلهام الآخرين لفعل الشيء نفسه – نحن نمتلك القدرة على حماية كوكبنا من أجلنا ومن أجل الأجيال القادمة.

كيف يمكنك المساعدة

وادي الوريعة

اقرأ المزيد

الإنجازات

اقرأ المزيد

Freshwater | WWF

 

 

FRESH WATER

Creating a water-secure future for the UAE

 




 

Read More

OVERVIEW

Along with the air we breathe, water is the planet’s most precious resource. Every living creature’s survival depends on it. And humans need it for almost everything – from the food we eat to our fuel, clothes and medicine. Very few countries have freshwater supplies that are so scarce and fragile as the UAE’s. We have no permanent rivers or natural lakes. Instead, we rely heavily on rainwater falling in the Hajar Mountains – creating year-round water in the wadis and underwater gorges.

RISING DEMAND, DECREASING SUPPLY

Thirty years ago, all of our freshwater requirements were satisfied by natural sources. Today, most of our water is being provided by desalination.

This is partly due to a rapid rise in demand from urbanisation and population growth. But there has also been a drop in supply – climate change, low rainfall, high evaporation, over-exploitation of groundwater for agriculture, and the maintenance of artificial gardens, parks and forests are all taking their toll.

Several dam building and desalination programmes have been implemented to combat the looming water shortages. Unfortunately these solutions pose their own threats to the environment. Dams have severe effects on wildlife areas, creating droughts and upsetting the balance of nature. Desalination is also environmentally treacherous – affecting marine life and contributing to climate change.

It’s a situation no one can take lightly if we want to maintain our lifestyles and protect the abundance of wildlife living around our freshwater sources.

So EWS-WWF is partnering with government, business and communities to deliver achievable solutions. By establishing integrated protected area networks, we’re working towards a sustainable future for the UAE’s people and nature.

WHAT EWS-WWF IS DOING

CONSERVING NATURAL WATER RESOURCS

We are passionate about restoring and sustainably managing our freshwater ecosystems.

From 2006, EWS-WWF has helped to characterise and monitor freshwater habitats in the UAE. In Fujairah’s Wadi Wurayah, we discovered that freshwater systems had ‘exceptionally good’ water quality. This in part led to its accreditation as a RAMSAR site in 2010 – giving it international recognition and significance. It also contributed to its status as the UAE’s first officially protected mountain area: in 2013 EWS-WWF was appointed by the Fujairah Government to spearhead the planning and implementation of the Wadi Wurayah National Park.

Since then we have worked closely with Fujairah Municipality and other stakeholders to put forward a comprehensive management plan based on international best practices.

Today, Wadi Wurayah National Park is also unique for the region in the field of environmental education. The Water Research Centre was opened in 2013 to be the Middle East’s premier water research and education centre – inspiring local and regional communities to preserve freshwater resources for current and future use. It is also home to the Water Research and Learning Programme, promoting valuable citizen science.

What You Can Do

We can all take climate action through smarter everyday choices, whether it’s energy efficient products and cars, or the way we use electricity and water. Even by making small changes to our daily routines – and inspiring others to do the same – we have the power to help safeguard our planet for this and future generations.

How You Can Help

Wadi Wurayah

View More

Achievements

View More