الطبيعة | WWF

 

 

الطبيعة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

مجموعة من المناظرالطبيعية والبحرية

 




 

أقرأ المزيد

نظرة عامة

مجموعة من المناظر الطبيعية والبحرية 

من قمم الجبال وأشجار القرم إلى صحرائها وخطها الساحلي، تعتبردولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة موطناً للعديد من المناطق الطبيعية المختلفة. إلا أنه وخلال وقت قصير جداً حدث تطور كبير كان له فى أغلب الأحيان أثرٌ سلبيٌ على البيئة وخلّف تلوثاً.

الصحراء

غالبية الأراضي في الإمارات العربية المتحدة هي صحراء رملية حيث تنمو النباتات الموسمية. وتتضمن إمارة أبوظبى جزءاً من أكبر صحراء رملية في العالم "الربع الخالى".

الحياة البحرية

يعتبر الخليج العربى وخليج عمان جزءاً من العالمية 200 للصندوق العالمي للطبيعة (المنطقة الإيكولوجية 232 : البحر العربي) التي تم تحديدها كمنطقة لها أولوية في الحفظ. حيث تشمل مناطق طبيعية هامة مثل الجزر والشعاب المرجانية والأعشاب البحرية والمستنقعات المالحة (السبخات) والأخوار وأشجارالقرم.

المياه العذبة

يوجد القليل جداً من المياه العذبة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. توجد السبخات (أكبرالبؤرالملحية في العالم) حيث تتجمع الأمطار، بالإضافة إلى بحيرات المياه العذبة الصناعية. يوجد أيضاً المياه الجارية فى أعماق الوديان فى الجبال على مدار السنة. تمتلك الإمارات أيضاً طبقات جوفية تحت الأرض تحوي مياهاً جوفية وبعضها من المياه العذبة.

الجبال

تعتبر الجبال كنزاً حقيقياً للمنطقة فهي موطن النظم البيئية الحساسة والأنواع المهددة بالإنقراض. وهي واحدة من الأماكن القليلة فى المنطقة المزدهرة بتنوع إحيائي فريد فى النباتات والحيونات، بالإضافة إلى وجود مصادر سليمة للمياه العذبة . تلعب جبال الحجر فى المنطقة الشرقية دوراً هاماً فى ملء طبقات المياه الجوفية المحلية. وقد تكيفت الحياة البرية مع الجبال وبرك المياه العذبة والوديان والينابيع، بما فيها اليعاسب والضفادع والأسماك.

إن الطبيعة القاسية للجبال تجعل منها ملاذاً مثالياً لمحبي الحياة البرية الخجولة مثل النمر العربى والطهر العربى. تعتبرالجبال المشتركة مع عمان والمملكة العربية السعودية واليمن موطناً آخر للمنطقة العالمية 200 : المنطقة الايكولوجية 127 : الأراضي العربية المرتفعة والأراضي الشجرية.

بالرغم من المناخ الحار والجاف للإمارات العربية المتحدة إلا إنها تأوي العديد من المخلوقات والنباتات النادرة والمثيرة . وهم ليسوا من شبه الجزيرة العربية فقط، إنما أيضاً من آسيا وأفريقيا. وعلى اليابسة تعلموا جميعاً التكيف مع المناخ وطبيعة الأرض. وعلى طول الساحل يتواجد مجموعة مدهشة من الأحياء البحرية.
 
الحياة البرية

تزدهرالعديد من أنواع الكائنات الحية فى الصحراء والمناطق الجبلية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وتتميز بقدرتها على التكيف مع الحرارة والتضاريس فعلى سبيل المثال كفوف القطط الرملية مغطاة بالفرو مما يحميها من الحرق والغرق فى الرمال الساخنة وكذلك يستطيع حيوان المها العيش بدون ماء لمدة أسابيع.
ومن المؤسف أن الوتيرة السريعة للتنمية غير المدروسة تسبب مشاكل عديدة. حيث تختفى موائل رئيسة وتزداد قائمة الأنواع ذات الاهتمام الخاص.ومن بين هذه الأنواع الطهر العربي والنمر العربي.

الحياة البحرية

إن بحر الإمارات غني بالأسماك والنباتات والشعاب المرجانية حيث يوجد أكثر من 500 نوع مختلف من الأسماك تعيش وحدها فى مياه الخليج بالإضافة إلى ثاني أكبر قطيع من الأطوم في العالم، وكذلك الحيتان الحدباء العربية وأيضاً 8 أنواع مختلفة من الدولفين.
 
السلاحف

لقد رزقنا أيضاً بكل أنواع السلاحف البحرية. السلحفاة الخضراء هي الأكثر شهرة وهي تتغذى على الأعشاب البحرية الموجودة فى المياه الضحلة. من المعروف أن كلاً من السلاحف الخضراء وسلاحف منقار الصقر تعشش على الشواطىء الساحلية والجزر الرئيسة في دولة الإمارات.

الشعاب المرجانية وأشجار القرم (المانجروف)

تمثل الشعاب المرجانية وأشجار القرم مناطق تكاثر وتغذية حيوية للأسماك، وبالنسبة لأشجارالقرم فإن الطيور تعيش عليها أيضاً. كما أنها تحمى شواطئنا من ظاهرة التآكل الساحلى. بينما تتمتع الشعاب المرجانية بدرجة عالية من الحساسية وتدمر بسهولة بسبب التنمية الساحلية وشباك الصيد ومراسي السفن وبسبب الغواصين الجاهلين بطبيعة الشعاب المرجانية. وللأسف فهي تحتاج فترات طويلة لتنمو مرة أخرى.
 
الطيور

يحلق أكثر من 400 نوع من الطيور في سمائنا خلال العام. معظم هذه الطيور تتوقف هنا أثناء هجرتها الموسمية ولكننا نعرف أن ما لا يقل عن 90 نوعاً من الطيور تتكاثرهنا.
 
يشيع التكاثر بصورة خاصة فى الجزر قبالة أبوظبى. فعلى سبيل المثال تشهد جزيرة جرنين تكاثر طائر النورس الأسخم وطائرالخرشنة بيضاء الخدود وطيور الخرشنة الملجمة وطيور الخرشنة البنغالية. ولهذا السبب أعلن الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة في الخامس من فبراير عام 2003 بأن المنطقة المحمية "جزيرة جرنين البحرية" هي هبة الله للأرض.

 

تحولت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خلال عقود قليلة من نظام اقتصادي تقليدي يعتمد على الصيد وزراعة الواحات والثروة الحيوانية إلى تحضر هائل وسريع. الأمر الذي ترتب عليه ظهور مجموعة كبيرة من التحديات والتهديدات للطبيعة والإنسانية. نحن فى جمعية الإمارات للحياة الفطرية نؤمن بأنه مع التخطيط الدقيق تستطيع الدولة أن تستمر فى النمو بأقل تأثير ممكن على البيئة.
 
التحضر والصناعة

من بين التهديدات العديدة تعتبر هذه التهديدات هي الأكثر ضرراً.حيث تؤدى التنمية والإفراط فى الصيد وكذلك الرعي الجائر إلى تدمير موائل الحياة الفطرية. كما يؤدي النمو المتزايد فى عدد السكان إلى ظهور مشكلات أخرى مثل إدارة النفايات. إن تلوث الهواء والأرض والبحر هو قضية متنامية وخطيرة، كما يتم استنزاف المياه الجوفية في ري المزارع واحتياجات الري الأخرى.
 
البصمة البيئية

إن البصمة البيئية هى تأثيرنا على البيئة. وهى تقاس بمقدار مساحة الأرض اللازمة لاستمرار مصادر الطبيعة التى نستخدمها. يوضح أحدث تقرير أصدره الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة؛ "الكوكب الحي" بأنه حتى نتمكن من الحفاظ على مؤشرات الاستهلاك العالمي يجب أن يكون لدينا كوكب ونصف إضافيين- بينما لانملك سوى كوكب أرض واحد فقط. مما يعنى أننا نستخدم الموارد بشكل أسرع من قدرة الكوكب على تجديدهم.
إلا أن معدل البصمة البيئية لسكان دولة الإمارات أعلى بـ 3.5 مرة عن المعدل العالمي وكذلك أعلى بـ 8 مرات مما هو متاح للاستهلاك على المستوى المحلي ( 1.08 هكتار عالمي للشخص الواحد). (المصدر: تقرير الكوكب الحي للصندوق العالمي للطبيعة الصادر فى 2014.
 
السياحة

تجذب دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ما يقارب من 13 مليون شخص سنوياً. ونتيجة للتخطيط غير المستدام، تم تطويرالخط الساحلي بدرجة كبيرة من أجل بناء المنتجعات مما شكل تهديداً للعديد من المناطق ذات الأهمية البيئية. وليس هذا فحسب، بل إن الأنشطة الشعبية مثل الرياضات المائية والغوص والغطس يسبب هلاكاً للعالم الثمين القابع تحت الماء عند القيام بهذه الانشطة دون إشراف وفي المناطق المحمية.
 
الوعي

اتخذت الحكومة خطوات عظيمة للوصول إلى حلول سريعة للعديد من المشاكل. ومع ذلك فإن معدل الوعي حول التهديدات البيئية الرئيسة وتأثيرها على المجتمع منخفض في الدولة. نحن نحتاج إلى بذل مزيد من المجهود لنشر الوعي حول الصلة بين السلوك البشري الذي يتضمن أسلوب حياتنا وأثرها البيئي.

 

التاريخ

معرفة المزيد

كيف نعمل

معرفة المزيد

حول الجمعية

معرفة المزيد

الإنجازات

معرفة المزيد

Nature in the UAE | WWF

 

 

NATURE IN THE UAE

An array of landscapes and seascapes

 




 

Read More

OVERVIEW

AN ARRAY OF LANDSCAPES AND SEASCAPES

From the mountains and mangroves to its desert and coastline, the UAE is home to many different natural areas. However, in a very short time, there has been considerable development, often negatively impacting the environment and which has created pollution.  

DESERT

Most of the UAE is sandy desert where sparse seasonal plants grow. The emirate of Abu Dhabi includes part of the world's largest sand desert – the 'Empty Quarter' or Rub al Khali.

MARINE

The Arabian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman are both part of WWF's Global 200 (Eco-region 232: Arabian Sea) – identified as priorities for conservation. Important natural areas include islands, coral reefs, sea grasses, salt marshes, 'khors' (tidal inlets) and mangroves.

FRESHWATER

There’s very little permanent freshwater in the UAE. You can find 'sabkhas' (the world’s largest salt flats) where rain gathers, as well as freshwater artificial lakes. There’s also year-round running water in deep gorges of 'wadis' (valleys) in the mountains. The UAE also has underground aquifers containing groundwater, some of which is freshwater.

MOUNTAINS

Home to delicate ecosystems and endangered species, mountains are truly a treasure to the region. They are one of the few areas in the region bursting with unique biodiversity in flora and fauna, as well as having intact freshwater resources. The Hajar Mountains in the Eastern Region fulfil an important role filling the local underground aquifers. Wildlife has adapted to the mountains and the freshwater pools, 'wadis' and springs, including dragonflies, toads and fish.

The rugged nature of the mountains makes them a perfect refuge for shy wildlife such as the Arabian leopard (Panthera pardus nimr) and the Arabian tahr (Hemitragus jayakari). The mountains shared with Oman, Saudi Arabia and Yemen are home to another Global 200 area: Ecoregion 127: Arabian Highland Woodlands and Shrublands.

Although a hot and arid climate, the UAE harbours many rare and exciting creatures and plants. They’re not just from the Arabian Peninsula, but from Asia and Africa as well. On land they have all learnt to adapt to the climate and landscape. Along the coast, there is an exotic array of sea-life.
 
Terrestrial

Many species thrive in the desert and mountain areas of the UAE, adapting fascinating features to cope with the heat and terrain. For example, the sandcat's furry paws prevent it from burning or sinking in the hot sand, and the oryx can go without water for weeks.
 
Sadly, the fast pace of unplanned development is much more of a problem. Key habitats are disappearing and the list of species of special concern is growing. Among these are Arabian tahr (Hemitragus jayakari) and Arabian leopard (Panthera pardus nimr).

Marine

The sea of the UAE is rich with fish, plants and corals. In fact, over 500 different species of fish alone inhabit the Gulf waters, as well as the second largest population of dugongs (Dugong dugon) in the world, Arabian humpback whales and eight different species of dolphin.
 
Turtles

We’re also blessed with all sorts of sea turtles. The green turtle (Chelonia mydas) is the most common and feeds on sea grass beds found in shallow waters. Both green and hawksbill (Eretmochelys imbricata) turtles are known to nest on the beaches of UAE's main coast and islands.

Coral and mangrove

Coral reefs and mangrove creeks are vital breeding and feeding grounds for fish and, in the case of mangroves, bird-life too. They also protect our shores from coastal erosion. But coral reefs are especially sensitive – easily destroyed by coastal developments, fishing nets, anchors, or ignorant divers. And they take decades to grow back.
 
Birds

Over 400 bird species inhabit our skies during the year. Most stop off on their yearly migration but we know that at least 90 species breed here.
 
Breeding is especially common on the islands off Abu Dhabi. For instance, Qarnein Island sees breeding of sooty gull (Larus hemprichii), white-cheeked tern (Sterna repressa), bridled tern (Sterna anaethetus) and lesser crested tern (Sterna bengalensis). That’s why, on fifth February 2003, WWF International acknowledged Qarnein Island Marine Protected Area as a 'Gift to the Earth.’

 

In just a few decades, the UAE switched from having a traditional economy based on fishing, oasis farming and livestock to massive and rapid urbanisation. The result has been a wide range of challenges and threats to the nature as well as to humanity. We at EWS-WWF believe that, with careful planning, the country can continue to grow and evolve with minimum impact on the environment.
 
Urbanisation and industry

Of the many threats, these are some of the most pressing. Development, over-fishing and over-grazing destroy wildlife habitats. Rapid population growth brings other problems such as waste management. Air, land and seapollution is rising serious issue, Ground water is also being rapidly depleted for farms and other irrigation.
 
Ecological footprint

An ecological footprint is the impact we have on the environment. It’s measured as the amount of land needed to sustain the natural resources we use. The latest WWF Living Planet report shows that in order for us to sustain global consumption trends, we would need 1.5 Earths - we only have one. This means that we are using resources faster than the planet can replenish them.
 
However, the ecological footprint of the average UAE resident is 3.5 times higher than the global average and more than eight times higher than what’s locally available (1.08 global hectares per person). (Source: 2014 WWF Living Planet Report )
 
Tourism

The UAE attracts around 13 million people a year. Due to unsustainable planning, the coastline has been heavily developed for resorts, threatening several areas of environmental importance. In addition, popular activities such as water sports, diving and snorkeling cause damage to the precious underwater world when done unsupervised and in protected areas.
 
Awareness

The government has been taking great steps to quickly address many of the problems. However, the average understanding of the main environmental threats and their impact on society is low in the country. More needs to be done to create awareness of the link between human behaviour including our lifestyles and the environmental impact of these.

 

About Us

View More

History

View More

How We Work

View More

Achievements

View More